New Writer Awards: Poetry

Page maintained for archival purposes.
submit here:

From its advent, the mission of Sequestrum has been to feature new and emerging writers alongside literary heavyweights. Discovering new, unheralded voices is a bit like nicotine to us editors: We’re genetically predisposed to wanting more, and quitting gives us night terrors.

With our New Writer Awards, hundreds in cash prizes and publication in a future issue of  Sequestrum will be awarded to up-and-coming poets.

New Writer Awards Details:

  • Open only to writers who have not yet published a book-length manuscript.
  • One first-prize poet will receive $400, plus publication in a future issue of Sequestrum.
  • Runner up prize(s) of $25-$100 cash, plus publication.
  • Up to three poems per entry. $15 entry fee. 50 lines per poem.
    • Our line limit is more an aesthetic taste and less a hard guideline. We rarely publish pieces longer but will consider longer lengths.
  • Submissions read and reviewed on a rolling basis.
  • Contest doors close October 15thdependent on submission volume.
    • As always, our first obligation is to giving every submission the time and consideration it deserves, and the editors reserve the right to close contest doors early in order to do so.
    • The short and long: Get your work polished and submitted and don’t dawdle about it.

General Guidelines:

  • We will only consider submissions through our online submission system.
  • Entries must not have been previously published in any format.
  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
  • Multiple entries are allowed, following the guidelines above.
  • Include a brief 3rd person bio in your cover letter to be used as a contributor bio in the event of publication.
  • We prefer our writing with concise, imaginary, evocative, original and genre-bending with a literary bent. For an idea of what we’re after, visit our archives.
  • Do not include any identifying information on your manuscript. This should be in your cover letter.

Happy submitting, and best of luck.

Past Contest Results:
2018 Editor’s Reprint Awards
2017 Editor’s Reprint Awards
2017 New Writer Awards
2016 Editor’s Reprint Award
2016 New Writer Awards
2015 New Writer Awards
2015 Editor’s Reprint Award